Mother’s Day

From my journal dated May 13, 2002:

Yesterday was Mother’s Day…another “first” without Jason in a year full of “firsts” without our precious boy.

Joe got up early, went to the store, got turnovers and flowers, and fixed breakfast for me. I came to sit down for breakfast and just started to cry. I miss my boy so much. My poor hubby…he tried so hard, and I just fell apart.

I started thinking about the Mother’s Day when it seemed like no one had actually planned ahead to do anything to “celebrate me” and how I struggled to not let it bother me. I was so selfish! I can’t stand to think how selfish I was! I wouldn’t care if anyone did anything now if I could only have Jason back…just to be together. Just to be together, knowing our kids are safe and happy, would be enough.

Leave a Reply

