Book Review – Sorry For Your Loss by Alicia King

I purchased a book at Barnes & Noble yesterday entitled Sorry For Your Loss: What People Who Are Grieving Wish You Knew, by Alicia King. I periodically look through grief sections in bookstores or libraries to see if anyone has written anything new that might be particularly helpful for a grieving parent.

This is a great little book. Although not written specifically for bereaved parents, it gives good suggestions for responding to grievers. It only costs $9.99, so not a huge investment is required. Topics cover listening, respecting beliefs, the power of grief, writing a note or communicating a memory…20 specific topics addressed. Very good, basic suggestions. Because this is a small book and an easy read, it can be purchased as a quick reference guide when needed.

Please note I said “reference.” As always, I give one caution. No book is ever an absolute handbook to be followed in every situation. Every suggestion, no matter its source, should be carefully considered within the context of each unique grieving situation and each unique griever.

King, Alicia. Sorry For Your Loss: What People Who Are Grieving Wish You Knew. New York: Turner Publishing Company, 2010.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Sorry For Your Loss by Alicia King

  1. Rebecca-

    First off, let me say I’m so sorry you lost your Jason. Such a heartbreaking, frustrating situation. Was the drunk driver ever convicted? I know that doesn’t change anything, but my sense of inner justice wants them to pay some sort of consequence!

    Jason must have been one special kid to have inspired your work here. I can only imagine how many parents have benefitted from all you so bravely share. What a beautiful way to honor his memory!

    I was struck by the last paragraph in your “About Me” section. It’s very similar to my views on the uniqueness of grief. I often say, “If every person is unique, and every relationship is unique, then all grief is unique.” In other words, I think we’d get along just fine!

    I want to thank you for reviewing my book, Sorry For Your Loss: What People Who Are Grieving Wish You Knew. My publisher recently released a revised kindle edition titled Healing: The Essential Guide to Helping Others Overcome Grief and Loss. It’s only $3.99, which helps non-profits and other groups distribute it to more people who want it. (Clearly I’m not in this for the money, haha!)

    Again, thank you and congratulations on all you have accomplished. If every grieving person could share what they’ve learned with the next person, imagine the impact!

    • Thank you for your response! I really appreciated your book – spot-on, easy to read, good suggestions for varying situations.

      As I read the introduction to your book where you say, “If everyone who is surviving grief would honestly discuss the experience, just imagine the impact” I thought, “That’s what I’m doing!” It was like you had read my mind! I just want to give some insight to bereaved parents and those around them. I want some good to come out of this loss, this horrible journey.

      Jason was the most amazing young man! His birthday is July 29th..he would have been 29. I miss him so much!! The young man who hit him plead guilty in a plea bargain and was sentenced to four years in prison with an additional year jail time for the hit-and-run (plead to a misdemeanor). He served 2 2/3 years for killing two great young adults, with the jail time waived.

      Once again, thanks for your response and comments. Best of luck with your book. I will keep on recommending it!

Leave a Reply

