To the families of the Special Operations Forces Unit killed in Afghanistan this weekend

My heart goes out to you. I am so sorry for your loss. I, too, have lost a child. Although I did not lose a child in service of our country, I have walked in similar shoes as a bereaved parent. I don’t want to be presumptuous, but I just want you to know that I care that you have lost a precious child, a precious husband, a precious sibling, a precious father to your children.

First of all, I want to tell you that you will make it through. It may not seem like it sometimes, and there may be times when it seems like it’s too difficult a journey to continue. It is not an easy walk and the journey is very long, probably longer than you want to think about right now…but, one moment at a time, one breath at a time, one day at a time, you will make it through.

Take care of yourself. Rest. Eat. Take a walk when you are up to it. Breathe. Allow yourself time to grieve and heal. Allow yourself as much time as it takes…you, as a unique individual in a unique situation, are the only one who knows how long it will take. Don’t rush yourself through the grief process…but allow yourself to move through it at your own pace. Don’t make hasty decisions than can wait a while. Allow those around you to love on you, help you.

You will never be the same person. People you know may disappear or may not understand. Don’t let yourself become bitter because of it…extend a measure of grace to them because they don’t know what to do or say…and extend a huge measure of grace to yourself and your family.

I pray that your hearts will be comforted and that you have people to surround you, support you, and love you during this time and the years ahead. If it were possible, I would reach out and give each of you a big hug. Thank you for your loved one’s service to our country. I wish they had made it home to be with you.

Leave a Reply

