Dancing on the streets of gold

From my journal dated October 6, 2002:

They announced today at church that a lady from the church community died yesterday. “Dancing on the streets of gold in her red tennis shoes,” they said.

I’m sure she is!

She and her husband have two little boys, though, and the gal making the announcement today said that she had promised the husband the church would help raise them.

I wanted to say, “Please don’t make any promises you don’t intend to keep.” Not that I  think the person making the announcement today doesn’t intend to keep her promises, but so many people don’t realize that this is just the beginning…the tip of the iceberg. The major stuff is still to come – learning to live without your loved one – and it goes on and on.

The initial meals and whatever are great. But then people tend to disappear. Everybody moves on and leaves you alone to do stuff by yourself and deal with stuff on your own. Maybe that’s just my perception. Maybe it makes a difference if you’re better connected, especially in a large church. I don’t know. I can only speak from my experience.

I hope they have all the support they need for a very long time…as long as they need it.

This entry was posted in Christians, Church, Grief/Grieving, Support and tagged , , , by Rebecca Carney - One Woman's Perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rebecca Carney - One Woman's Perspective

My name is Becky Carney. My husband, Joe, and I have been married for 40 years. We have two living children, Eric (37) and Jenna (32). We lost a baby in utero at 19 weeks in 1987. In 2002, our middle son, Jason (19), and his best friend, Alina (20), were broadsided by a drunk driver who was going at least twice the speed limit. They both died instantly. This blog is written from my perspective as a bereaved parent. I don't claim to know what it's like to walk in anyone else's shoes. Each situation is different; each person is different. Everyone handles grief differently. But if I can create any degree of understanding of what it's like to be a parent who has lost a child, then I have succeeded in my reason for writing this blog.

Leave a Reply

