Just to say I care

From my journal dated October 28, 2002:

We saw a biography on TV last night about Barbara Eden. It must have been filmed several years ago. She talked about her son’s drug problem and how she helped him recover. At the end, the announcer came on and said her son had died last year of a drug overdose. I felt so bad for her.

It may sound silly, but I just felt I should write her a note and say I was sorry to hear about the death of her son. And so, I did. She may never actually get it or respond, but I just wanted to say that I understand and that I care. Unless you’ve been there, you don’t know what it’s like.

Leave a Reply

