Just walk beside me and be my friend

From my journal dated November 8, 2002:

I think I need to find someone to be my friend. Not someone who wants to “rescue” me, but someone who cares about me, cares about who I am now; someone who is willing to listen to me, to do things with me, to call me. I don’t need someone to talk at me or quote Scriptures or religious platitudes at me. I don’t need someone to give me books, hoping I’ll “get” whatever they think I need to know from them. Just walking beside me would be nice. It would really help.

I know it’s a fine line, and I’m sure it’s hard for other people to figure out how to walk it. But I just don’t feel like I have an honest-to-goodness support system right now. I haven’t really had one since the beginning.

I’ve been walking with Mary Sutton on a fairly regular basis, but I know that it takes time to establish an ongoing friendship. I’m looking forward to getting to know her better, though.

Leave a Reply

