Can you die from a broken heart?

From my journal dated December 7, 2002:

Saturday again. Bright and sunny day outside.

Have to meet with my accounting group for school, but I have had such a hard time concentrating lately. Don’t know if it’s because of the whole trial thing, because of the holidays, or just because.

I have had this cough from something to do with my sinuses. Can’t seem to get rid of it. And then I’m so tired. Sometimes all I want to do is lie down and sleep. I start to watch a movie or TV, and just fall asleep. Sound asleep. People can move around or whatever, and it doesn’t even wake me up. It concerns me some, but it’s frustrating more than anything.

I am more certain than ever than grief is really hard on your body. I’m concerned that the grief I feel physically is particularly hard on my heart. I really and truly think you can die from a broken heart.

I just need to make sure I take care of myself. I need to be here for Jenna, for my family.

One thought on “Can you die from a broken heart?

  1. I’ve been wondering lately why I’m so tired. Why my feet hurt, why my hair is getting thinner, why the arthritis in my thumbs hurts more. I worry that there’s something wrong and then I remind myself… grief is hard on the body. I hope you are physically feeling better now than you were then.

Leave a Reply

