For all the hurting hearts this holiday season

Memories of past Christmases have been on my mind lately. This time of year is still hard for me. I miss Jason so much at Christmas. I miss the way things were. I miss the “used to be.”

As I walked this morning and then watched the sunrise, I noticed a heart shape in the clouds and it made me smile. I looked up toward heaven and said, “I love you, Jason.”

Those of you who are hurting are in my thoughts and prayers today. Sending love and hope for a holiday season filled with good memories (both old and new), family, friends, and peace and comfort for your heart. May the God of all comfort hold you close in a very real way.

© 2011 Rebecca R. Carney

9 thoughts on “For all the hurting hearts this holiday season

  1. Oh, what a lovely photo. That’s frameable, Rebecca! Thank you for your warm words. You are on my heart during this season, as well. It continues to be difficult to balance old traditions and new with my brother’s sons. I just try to talk about him often and share stories together.

  2. There was a time when I didn’t want to see anyone laughing or hear the christmas music in the stores and see the shoppers. It is a little easier but still difficult! I try to make new traditions that include my son, like taking an ice candle to the cemetary on Christmas eve.

  3. Thank you for letting me join you on your walk today through your photos and across time through your reflections on loss and your stories about Jason. You said so much with, “I miss the ‘used to be'”.

  4. Rebecca, The photo is glorious and so is your post and your heart.

    “May the God of all comfort hold you close in a very real way.”

    Back at you, Truly. We will make it through this season. We will

    Peace to you, Jen

Leave a Reply

