Taking the time

I’ve been catching up on reading the email notifications I get from blogs I follow. I know, I know. I’ve been slacking off in both my writing AND my reading!

Anyway, I wanted to share a link to a blog I read this morning written by a man whose daughter died three years ago. Like the letter I wrote to Jason on his 19th birthday, Mr. Cartwright wrote a note to his daughter not long before she died, telling her what an amazing young woman she was.

I’m so glad I took the time to listen to that little voice “prompting” me to write that letter to Jason on the morning of his 19th birthday. He didn’t get to see his 20th birthday. The pastor read the letter as a eulogy at Jason’s memorial service.

We have to take the time to tell the people we love how much we love them and how proud we are of them when we have the chance. We have to slow down our busy lives enough to spend meaningful time and have meaningful conversations with those we love. That chance may never come again.

No guilt trip; just a friendly reminder. I’m sure we all try to do the best we can with the time and energy resources we have.

Here’s the link for Mr. Cartwright’s blog post: http://spiritualwalkwithgod.wordpress.com/2013/06/29/its-been-3-years/; and here’s the letter I wrote to Jason on his 19th birthday: https://onewomansperspective02.wordpress.com/writings/

© 2013 Rebecca R. Carney

3 thoughts on “Taking the time

  1. Becky, Thanks so much for the links to both the letter you wrote to your son Jason as well as the link to the father’s letter to his daughter. I especially appreciate the gentle reminder that we have no promises about tomorrow for any of us. The time to say “I love you” is now. With each passing day, I’m seeing how very important that is to do!

  2. Great reminder.. I do this often, it is one of my spiritual gifts. However, it somehow gets lost in translation and questioned by my adult daughters and is cause for much angst at times. I too have lapsed in both writing and reading. I was just thinking this morning that I feel like I abandon “friends” but not staying in touch as they share their lives so openly. And, I wondered if they missed me too!

Leave a Reply

