“You’ve Got the Most Unbelievable Blue Eyes I’ve Ever Seen”

Look at that bright smile

Look at that bright smile and beautiful blue eyes

One of the songs we played at Jason’s memorial service during the photo slide show was Donna Lewis’s “I Love You Always Forever.” It was a fun, upbeat song that was popular at the time and parts of it just seemed to represent who Jason was, especially the line “you’ve got the most unbelievable blue eyes I’ve ever seen.” Because, you see, Jason DID have the most unbelievably beautiful blue eyes. They were eyes that twinkled with joy. They were eyes that spoke of intelligence, love, compassion.

Music has a power to connect to our emotions like little else. It brings back memories so clearly, as if the event that triggers those memories just happened. It just touches our hearts so deeply in unexpected ways.

For some reason, that song, “I Love You Always Forever,” does that for me. It just zings me right in the heart every time I hear it, and it takes me right back to that time. It reminds me of how much I miss Jason. It came on the speakers as I was shopping today and just stopped me in my tracks. Tears filled my eyes and I was blindsided by the depth of emotions I felt.

Early on in this journey, I realized certain songs were going to do that for me; they were going to blindside me when I unexpectedly heard them. I realized that could be a problem, and so I purchased a CD with this particular song on it. I played it over and over in an effort to “desensitize” its impact for me. Obviously, that didn’t work very well for me. I still get blindsided by this song…and others. They remind me of times gone by that will never come again. They remind me how much I miss my boy and those beautiful blue eyes of his.

© 2014 Rebecca R. Carney

7 thoughts on ““You’ve Got the Most Unbelievable Blue Eyes I’ve Ever Seen”

  1. I can’t read your post. I saw the title. I remember the song and know it quite well. My boy had wonderful blue eyes. Then I saw the pic you shared. He looks so happy. He looks like my son looked. It hurts so much. I ache for you along with my sorrow.

  2. Music is such a trigger bringing memories – happily sweet yet glazed with unspeakable grief. Peace to you Becky as your heart folds around such memories.

  3. Music, sometimes just a random tune or a lyric, and I’m consumed with thoughts of Nicholas, and melancholy. We used Christopher Cross’ “Sailing,” and “The Circle of Life” from the Lion King. I thought of many choices for the title as I read your post. You chose an apt one.

Leave a Reply

