Jason David Carney.

sc001fbd1501

Jason,

Today I will think about your kindness. I will think about your loving heart. I will think about how you loved to sit on the counter in the kitchen and talk to me as I cooked dinner. I will think about your fantastic hugs. I will think about what joy you brought into our lives. I will think about your love of chess and your patience in teaching anyone who wanted to learn the game you truly enjoyed. I will think about playing Yahtzee with you. I will think about your smile and your beautiful blue eyes. I will think about how you loved to laugh and your great sense of humor. I will think about how hard you studied and what a great student you were. I will think about your empathetic and encouraging spirit. I will think about your love of God and that I will see you again. I will think of your sense of humor. I will think of your love for your sister and what a good friend and big brother you were to her. I will think about how you cherished your friends and what a good friend you were to each of them. I will think about your life. I will think of all the wonderful qualities God gave you and how you shared them with the people around you. I will cherish all these memories in my heart.

I will think about you…and how much I miss you…oh, how I miss you!!

I love you,

Mom

Jason David Carney

7/29/82 – 3/3/02

© 2015 Rebecca R. Carney

 

 

11 thoughts on “Jason David Carney.

  1. What a beautiful boy! Oh Becky, I was crying reading this. It’s been 13 years for you today. My son died in 1992 – so it’s been 23 years. The longing hasn’t gone away, but much of my pain has. I feel your heartache and am sending you a hug. He will never be forgotten and lives on in so many hearts. But his mommy loves and longs for him every moment of her day; that I know.

  2. I can feel the pain in your writing, Rebecca. I write sometimes about losing my 20 year old son in my blog. I’ve struggled with depression with both the loss and breast cancer. I don’t know if that affects you, but I’m taking a really good supplement now that has seemed to even it out.

  3. I’m so glad to see you are still writing, Rebecca. This was a beautiful letter to Jason. I haven’t been writing in the last couple of years–but March 4 I almost wrote because it was year four for mom passing. Some people say you can’t compare grief–but mom would be 107 next birthday. Jason would be 33–the same age as my son. So, I can compare and say this–I can magine your grief and sorrow and the missing of Jason–but I can’t really know it. Blessings.

    • Hi, Martha. Yes, I am still writing, although not as much as I used to. The last year or so has required my energies elsewhere, with my boss having surgery for a brain tumor and my work load nearly doubling as I added an additional boss. I still believe it’s important to keep writing and increasing awareness of issues surrounding deep grief following the death of a child. I am hoping to write more soon. Thank you so much for your comments. You have been a terrific supporter of my blog and a great encouragement.

      Becky

Leave a Reply

