Question about Non-Profits for Helping Bereaved Parents

I have had a project in my mind for a long time – a non-profit for helping and supporting bereaved parents. I don’t want to duplicate what others have done, but I have wanted to do something to help. Whatever I do, I want it to be entirely relevant and workable.

What I have in mind is something that’s very ambitious – or at least could be in the long run – so I’m not sure if I have the wherewithal to do anything that ambitious, and I don’t think I can do it alone. My heart is telling me that now may be the time. I say that out loud with fear and trepidation, as I haven’t said those words to hardly anyone and I’ve never outlined what I have in mind to anyone.

So, my question is this: Do you know of any non-profit organizations that specifically help and provide resources for bereaved parents? If so, what is their focus, size, any other specifics? Could you please also provide a web link, if one is available? If you have started a non-profit, what has been your process/experience? If you don’t want to put anything public on this site, you can email me at onewomansperspective@hotmail.com.

Thank you.

~Becky

© 2017 Rebecca R. Carney

11 thoughts on “Question about Non-Profits for Helping Bereaved Parents

  1. The one that immediately comes to my mind is here in Ireland and is called Anam Cara, (which is Irish for Soul mate or literally friend of my soul). Here is the link. https://anamcara.ie/
    They have quite literally come to the rescue of my closest friend after the loss of her young son. They began small but have gradually increased what they offer and do. They provide support for all parents who have lost children irrespective of the age of the child.
    The best of luck with your venture. I think when you go looking you will find many to come and support you in making your idea a reality.

  2. The MISS Foundation helps bereaved parents. Dr. Joanne Cacciatori was a bereaved mom who experienced the death of her stillborn daughter and saw how little support there was for her grief. In the 20 years since her experience she founded her foundation. They offer on-line support, individual therapy, an annual parent retreat and several workshops for professionals who work or come in contact with grieving parents. Missfoundation.org

  3. Becky, I think what you want to do is quite admirable. There’s more than enough grief out there. The damage caused by grief can be astronomical. All the best in your efforts.

  4. Oh my goodness! I just had the longest comment typed out and lost it :-‘(
    I’ll try to do an abridged version..
    I’m so sorry for the physical loss of your son, Becky.
    A fellow mom of 2015 triplets who lost one of her girls at a few weeks old started “Savannah’s Snowdrops,” a division of Project Sweet Peas (non-profit dedicated to helping families with infants in NICU & grieving parents).
    I also wanted to share a new-ish book if you hadn’t heard of it yet.. “Permission to Mourn:A New Way to Do Grief” by Tom Zuba (he lost an infant daughter, then his wife, then one of his teenaged sons). He wrote this as “the book I wished I’d had.” It’s an easy read, more like poetry or stream of consciousness. One idea (not brand new but I like his description) is that of keeping our relationships with our loved ones alive & evolving, versus just “keeping memories alive.” I get the sense this is what you are/will be doing with your efforts to create a new organization for helping grieving parents in some way/s. I believe there is always space for something new, regardless of how many other groups might be out there. Sending you best wishes on your journey!!

  5. Hello Becky,

    I don’t have much to offer as far as a bereaved organization goes but wanted you to know every once in a while I “stop in” and read your blog. My son Jesse David was born in 1984 and was homeschooled too. Killed by a reckless driver.

    You have touched the hearts of many who read your words. You are honest about grief, the struggles and raw pain of it all. So thank you for writing.

    The one thing I can think of is perhaps some of what you have written could be produced as maybe a brochure that Compassionate Friends or another organization could hand out. Maybe a guest speaker?

Leave a Reply

