Dreams

There are people that dream about their family members who have died, but typically I am not one of those people. I am not one who usually dreams or remembers any of my dreams at all, although I’ve had a few very vivid dreams about things over the years.

For example, one Friday night I had an extremely vivid dream about my mother-in-law. I dreamed that she had fallen, that someone had come to pick her up, and that she was dying. Her health had been declining, but there was no indication that she was near death, so this dream really rattled me.

The next morning, I debated with myself about whether or not to tell my husband, but I decided I’d better tell him and encourage him to call his mom to check in. When he called his folks, his sister answered the the and said, “Joey, I’m so sorry. We should have called you. Mom fell yesterday, and they came and took her to the hospital. They’re really not sure how long she’s going to live.” Needless to say, he booked his plane ticket right away to go see her. She died not long after. That whole experience still gives me goosebumps.

I’ve had several other similar vivid dreams that seemed to fit exactly into what was going on in real life. It is a bit unnerving at times, I have to admit.

I have only dreamed about Jason a couple of times, most memorably about six months after he died. I wish I dreamed about him more. I miss seeing him so much. I miss his hugs so much.

After Jason died, it caused me enormous anguish to think that my precious, beautiful son had borne the direct hit of a car going 70 miles per hour. As a parent, we just want our children to be safe and protected, and our minds rebel at the thought that they weren’t. Our whole beings cry out for the safety and protection of our children. My husband went through a horrible time of guilt that he wasn’t able to protect Jason; he felt like he should have been able to protect him somehow. When the accident happened, the drunk driver’s car hit Jason’s car right on the driver’s side door, right where he was sitting.

My anguish was made worse when I got the death certificates in the mail. Not understanding the medical terminology of the main cause of death listed on the death certificate, I made the mistake of looking it up on the internet. I have never, ever shared what I found with anyone, and I never, ever will. Ever. It caused me a whole lot of anguish for many years. It’s not like I have dwelt on the cause of death all the time, but it definitely factored into my grieving process.

Although we have a complete set of the police investigation, along with all of the photos they took that night, it is securely taped shut with a stern warning on the outside about never, ever opening it. I’ve never looked at it and I never want anyone to, either. When the police detectives reviewed the case with us, they were very selective in the few photos they showed us of the accident. I’m sure there is a very good reason why. I’m glad the whole court case didn’t go to trial; otherwise, a lot of that documentation would become public. I should probably have our work’s shredding service take it away. I don’t know why I’ve held onto it this long.

Anyway, some years after Jason’s death, I hit a really low point and was struggling mightily in my grief — not only about Jason’s death and everything surrounding that time, but how he died. And then, one night, I had a dream that really brought me comfort.

We lived in Florida at the time. In Florida, there are canals and waterways all over the place, and there are some bridges that go up on either side to a flat area on top. As you go  up and across the flat top, you can’t necessarily see if there are any cars stopped as you head down the other side. I always watched in fear that someone would come off the bridge too fast to stop. Florida has some crazy, fast drivers! (No offense to any Floridians!)

In my dream, I had gone across the flat top of the bridge and was on the downslope on the other side, stopped and waiting for the light to change. In my rearview mirror, I saw somebody in a very large, heavy vehicle come barreling up behind me. I instantly knew that there was no way he could stop in time, that he was going to hit me hard, and that there was no way I was going to survive. Right in the split moment before he hit me, I felt my soul, my spirit, whatever you want to call it being pulled out of my body so that I was several feet above the car.

In my dream, I could actually feel the sensation of being pulled out of my body. I don’t even know how to describe it — sort of a quick, but gentle and airy separation of body from spirit that sort of tickled, like someone grabbed me by the back of my collar and just lifted me right out of my body. I was still me, just not in my physical body any more. I could look down past my feet at my physical body in the car, and I felt a holy presence beside me, holding me. I had felt no pain at the moment of impact because I was no longer a part of my physical body; I had been pulled out in the split second before the car hit me.

And, as I woke from that dream, I realized that that’s what had happened to Jason. God had spared him the horrendous pain of being hit by that drunk driver, of his 180-pound frame absorbing the full impact of a speeding, 4000-pound car. He had quickly and gently pulled the true spirit of Jason out of the way of that speeding car to be with Him, leaving just the shell of his body behind to absorb the impact.

From that time on, even though I remember the medical terminology of Jason’s cause of death and know exactly what it means, I know in my heart that he felt no pain at the moment of the accident. He is safe; he is healthy; he is happy. And he’s waiting for me.

I love you, my precious boy. Oh, how I miss you.

~Becky

© 2018 Rebecca R. Carney

This entry was posted in Death of a child, Dream, Grief, Jason David Carney and tagged , , , by Rebecca Carney - One Woman's Perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

About Rebecca Carney - One Woman's Perspective

My name is Becky Carney. My husband, Joe, and I have been married for 46 years. We have two living children, Eric (43) and Jenna (38). We lost a baby in utero at 19 weeks in 1987. In 2002, our middle son, Jason (19), and his best friend, Alina (20), were broadsided by a drunk driver who was going at least twice the speed limit. They both died instantly. This blog is written from my perspective as a bereaved parent. I don't claim to know what it's like to walk in anyone else's shoes. Each situation is different; each person is different. Everyone handles grief differently. But if I can create any degree of understanding of what it's like to be a parent who has lost a child, then I have succeeded in my reason for writing this blog.

9 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. Thank you for sharing this- it sounds like you have a gift. I find your dream about your spirit leaving your body very comforting. And I’m so glad it’s given you some peace.
    Thank you also for continuing to share your journey. My daughter died in May, 2016 (she was 19yrs old) and I find myself searching to hear from other parents who are not new to this grief. Hugs to you-

  2. Becky, thank you for sharing such a timely post. I have followed you for some years now. It is 3 am my time as I write this. I am up at this hour in prayer since my daughter is so struggling with the loss of her brother — it is now coming up on 6 years this October. Just before I opened your site, I was praying to the Lord Jesus that he would give her direction in a dream as she has had some dreams of direction to her in the past. Then I started up my computer and felt inspired to go to your site. Your piece about dreams was very synchronistic and I take it as a small answer to prayer in this continued struggle. Thanks for your faithfulness and for this post. Laurie, mom of Jesse David and Taylor James.

    • Wow! That’s amazing. It’s been several years since I had this dream, and I felt now was the time to share it. I’m glad it gave a small encouragement in your walk.

      Our daughter, too, has struggled so much with the death of her brother, and I have prayed many prayers for her. They were so close and it has impacted her life so much.

      Hugs and prayers, Laurie.

      ~Becky

  3. Dear Becky
    As soon as your ‘posts’ arrive in my in-box, I read them as soon as possible. I so love the effortless writing, that speaks to my heart.
    I can hardly remember now how I fell upon your site. It will have been, typically, sitting in bed, alone with my phone and the pain of losing our son. It’s how it always is. And always will be. You will know that this is, at times…unbearable.
    I’m deeply sorry for the loss of your son. I’ve read your posts, I’ve seen the beautiful photos of your lovely son – as a small boy and a fine young man. I know that you understand, everything, about where we are now…
    I was brought up RC. We gave our son a RC farewell. It was beautiful. But I have immense difficulty now entering a church. If I do, it’s simply to light some candles, firstly for Christian and other departed.

    Thank you for sharing.

    With very best wishes.
    Francesca

    • Thank you for writing, Francesca, and for your kind words. I’m glad that what I write helps. I’m a very private person, so it’s difficult to write about my life and, especially, about something so deeply personal as the grief following Jason’s death.

      Hugs to you this Christmas season.

      ~Becky

  4. Pingback: My Dream | Grief: One Woman's Perspective

Leave a comment